Methodology

This page exists so you can judge the data rather than trust it. Rankings here will be compared against commercial passport indexes and will not always match, because the methods differ. Here is ours.

Two layers, kept separate

The requirement layer — whether a passport needs a visa for a destination — derives from the open Passport Index dataset, MIT licensed, covering 199 passports. It is generated, never hand-edited, and checked for changes every week; any change is reviewed by a person before it reaches the site.

Checking weekly does not make the data newer than its source. The dataset's maintainer last updated it on 18 February 2026, and that is the date our pages give as its age. We last checked it for changes on 4 October 2026. A rule that changed after the source's date may not be reflected, which is why every page says to confirm against the government page, and why the hand-checked fees, portal links and topic pages carry their own, newer dates.

The editorial layer — fees, processing times, document checklists and portal links — is written by hand, one file per destination, from the destination's own immigration ministry or eVisa portal. We currently hold 85 of them. This layer is the actual product.

A further 5 destinations currently carry an official portal link and no fee. Every one of those links is verified before it is published — it must resolve on a government domain and the page must be about visas. Links that only look official are rejected: a lookalike domain offering "eVisa" services is exactly what this site exists to steer people away from, so a portal we cannot confirm is left out entirely.

Where a page shows a fee, that fee was read off a government page and carries the date it was read. Where a page shows no fee, none has been sourced yet. There is no third possibility: we never print a figure we cannot point at.

Where fees come from

A fee is only published if it was read off a tier-one source: the destination's own immigration service or its official application portal. Not a news article, not an agent's site, not a summary.

Every fee we hold is stored alongside the exact sentence or table row it was taken from, so the number can be checked against the quote and the quote against the government page. Each published page shows the date it was last checked and links to the page it came from.

If a fact cannot be sourced, the field is left empty. South Africa is the clearest example: the Department of Home Affairs publishes a fee schedule for civic documents but not a central visitor visa fee, so we print no South African visa fee at all. A missing fee is an inconvenience. A wrong fee costs someone a trip.

Topic pages and tools

The UK ETA and ETIAS pages, the photo requirements, passport validity and transit tables follow the same rule as fees. Each figure is stored with the sentence it was read from, the page and the day a person read it, and the page prints the source and date beside the figure. Where an official page does not state something, the page says "not stated" or "not yet checked" rather than fill the gap. ETIAS has no launch date on this site because the official EU site publishes none.

Rules from the UK Foreign Office's travel advice are labelled as such: they are official, but written for British passport holders, so we never print them on another nationality's route page.

The Schengen calculator and the photo resizer run entirely in your browser. Your dates and your photo are not sent to us or stored. The calculator does arithmetic, and the resizer resizes to a published size; neither can tell you that you will be admitted or that a photo will be accepted.

The points calculators for Canada's CRS and Federal Skilled Worker grid and for Australia's skilled visas score from tables copied cell by cell from IRCC and the Department of Home Affairs. Before a calculator is published, a set of worked profiles is scored by hand and checked by an admin against the government's own calculator, or, where none exists, against the published points table row by row. A calculator whose result disagrees fails our build and is not published. Your answers stay in your browser.

The eVisaChecker mobility score

The score counts the destinations a passport can reach without applying in advance and waiting for a decision. Three of the six statuses count: visa free, visa on arrival, and eTA.

An eTA counts because it is granted in minutes to hours and needs no appointment, no biometrics trip and no interview. An eVisa does not count, even though it is also online, because it is a real application with a real refusal rate and a real wait. Commercial indexes often group these differently, which is the main reason our numbers diverge from theirs.

The score is a count, not a weighting. A destination counts the same whether it is a major economy or a small island. A weighted version is a separate measure and will be labelled as one if we publish it.

What we will not do

Corrections

If a figure here is wrong, tell us. Corrections are small and quick to make, and the page will show a new checked date the same day it is fixed. We would rather hear about an error from you than leave it costing someone money.

16830 route pages published. Editorial data last reviewed 18 October 2026.